Day One Blog

Hello everyone! My name is Rachaelle (pronounced as Rachel) Browning. I am an sophomore majoring in English here at the University of Texas. Yes, I am taking this class to obtain credit for a requirement in my degree, but to me, this is more than just a class. I have an interest in feminism as a whole and believe that interest in a topic can be one of the most important points in a class.

So…. what is feminism to me?

In my opinion, feminism is the support towards women’s rights. This can be speculated however you may, but this is the main point in feminism. I believe feminism is better left as a broad concept rather than a narrow minded idea.

And…. what is speculative fiction to me?

When I hear speculative fiction, I think of genres such fantasy, more broaden science fiction novels (dystopian type science fiction), horror, etc. Speculative fiction is not as narrow as just science fiction, but covers more of the less well-known genres as well.

Where have I come across these kinds of texts before?

I read quite often, which probably doesn’t come across as a shocker to y’all. One of my favorite genres is the dystopian type novels such as The Giver by Lois Lowry, Divergent by Veronica Roth, The Maze Runner by James Dashner, The Time Machine by H.G. Wells, and The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. These types of books describe events in a way that is hard to articulate, but very interesting to me.

What promotes willingness to engage or participate?

Students are more willing to engage in class if the teacher picks a topic that is broadly relative and of interest to the student.

What broadens horizons?

If students are exposed to concepts outside of their comfort zones, their perspectives can be changed and their horizons can be broadened. At the same time, it could reaffirm what they already believe to be true. With this being said, there isn’t a particular way to broaden horizons that will be a success for everyone.

To conclude, I believe this is going to be a great class and that we will have a wonderful semester together. I hope everyone is having a good Labor Day weekend and I look forward to seeing y’all on Tuesday.

Rachaelle

Leave a Reply

