Tank Girl Thoughts

First of all, thanks to everyone who came to my apartment on Friday and watched Tank Girl with me and Peter! I was very worried that no one would show up… It ended up being a blast with you guys!

As far as the actual movie goes… wow. I had seen the movie once before, but when I was a lot younger so I didn’t retain many of the details. Here are some pros of the film: Ice-T was in it (albeit as a kangaroo-man), the amount of times Tank Girl changed her hairstyle was nothing short of amazing, and it gave me an excuse to eat pizza with my classmates.

Now, I like bad movies. And Tank Girl was a bad movie. The acting was awful, the plotline silly and hard to follow, and there wasn’t really much in the film that made sense. And don’t even get me started on Tank Girl hooking up with a kangaroo. But I think the most off-putting thing in the movie was the way they handled their characters. They didn’t seem like real people. Sure, they had certain characteristics unique to them (Tank Girl was stubborn and assertive, Jet Girl was nerdy, Ice-T was hella rad, etc) but their few character traits completely defined them. They kind of tried to have character development with Jet Girl but that mainly just consisted of her taking off her glasses and letting down her hair.

All in all, it was an enjoyable film. It made us laugh, even if it was unintentional.

Leave a Reply

