The end of TYOTF

Now that we’ve reached the end of The Year of the Flood, I’m left feeling a little bit unsatisfied with its conclusion, and I’m wondering if I’m the only one. While it’s clear that each character who survived went through some serious trauma, I kept waiting for Atwood to give me more detail about each person’s story. Instead, I felt that we were just reintroduced to characters quickly without much explanation. On the other hand, however, I think the reason Atwood didn’t include much detail is because she was trying to impress upon the reader the overwhelming emotions that each survivor felt, especially Ren and Toby, when they found out that their friends had made it. What got me the most, though, was the final line of the novel about music and lights in the distance coming towards them. Is this the other gardeners coming to find them and reunite? Could it be the blue people, or someone less peaceful and more threatening? I hate that I’m left hanging here! I also was really hoping Atwood would expand more and tell us if they die off slowly, or if the Gardeners ever re-establish their group and stick together through the rest of the flood’s aftermath.

 

 

 

 

One response to “The end of TYOTF

  1. I understand your feeling completely! I really wanted Atwood to give some closure to some of the questions I had! Like we discussed in class, Atwood did give some closure to Ren, which I will take because there is still so much more I want to know! I was so into this novel, I might just have to read Atwood’s other two novels to see the whole thing!! Especially because the third one talks about Zeb. I have no idea why, but I like his character a lot!

    Like

Leave a Reply

